Armenia violated ceasefire with Azerbaijan over 3,400 times in February

First meeting of newly elected Members of Board of Caspian European Club held
Azerbaijani delegation attends opening of Mukhtarov mosque in Vladikavkaz
Azerbaijan announces media outlets providing free airtime for pre-election campaigns

In February 2018, Armenia’s armed forces 3,423 times violated the ceasefire in various directions along the line of contact between Armenian and Azerbaijani troops, according to APA’s calculations based on the reports confirmed by the Azerbaijani Defense Ministry.

Armenians were using large-caliber machine guns and sniper rifles while shelling the Azerbaijani army positions.

In February, the Azerbaijani army positions located in the districts of Gazakh, Tovuz, Aghstafa, Gadabay, Tartar, Aghdam,  AghdamFuzuliFuzuliJabrayilJabrayilKhojavandKhojavand, Goranboy were shelled from the Armenian army positions.

The Azerbaijani Army was in full control of the operational situation along the entire line of contact last month.

Last month another provocation by Armenia attempted in the direction of Azerbaijan’s Gazakh district, has been prevented. The UAZ vehicle with the Armenian Armed Forces’ reconnaissance and sabotage group inside, moving in the direction of Azerbaijani positions was timely detected. As a result of Azerbaijan’s preventive actions, the attempt of the Armenian reconnaissance and sabotage group to move ahead was prevented.

Armenia’s quadcopter was intercepted while attempting to carry out flights over the Azerbaijani army positions in the direction of Fuzuli district in February.

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.

A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, KalbajarAghdamFuzuliJabrayilGubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.

The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.

Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCEMinsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.

Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACEOSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.