EU to support reform process both in Azerbaijan and in other EaP countries

Official welcome ceremony was held for German Federal Chancellor Angela Merkel
Azerbaijani delegation attends opening of Mukhtarov mosque in Vladikavkaz
A delegation of the British-Azerbaijani Interparliamentary Friendship Group visited Shusha

The European Union reaffirms its intention to support the reform process in the Eastern Partnership countries, President of the European Council Charles Michel said at a press conference after the EU-Eastern Partnership summit, Report informs referring to foreign media.

The second element of the summit is the opportunity to reaffirm the intentions to support the reform process, which are necessary for this partnership to be oriented towards the future, towards a concrete response to the expectations of the population, he said.

The Eastern Partnership project was launched in 2009 to strengthen political and economic relations between the EU, its member states and six countries: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine.

All these countries represented the Eastern Partnership at the summit on December 14 in Brussels, except for Belarus, which had previously suspended its participation in the program.